Best Scottish music

I don’t know much, but I do know this

My first knowledge of Scottish music was when I found out that The Proclaimers were from the home of my absolute favorite accent.  The band’s comprised of two of the goofiest-looking identical twins I’ve ever seen, rockers Charlie and Craig Reid.

St. Andrew's cross (here) + St. George's cross (England) = Flag of Britain!

To let their looks affect what they did musically with I’m Gonna Be (500 Miles) would be wrong.  The lyrics are naive, sure, but I’m such a softy/idealist when it comes to such hopeful tunes that I can’t help but fall for it.  I mean, how can you not admire what the song can do for a movie like Benny & Joon?

Here they are doing an acoustic rendition of the hope-filled hit:

It’s also got a special place in my heart for its presence in my study abroad memories.  I’ll never ever forget the night Arson took me to O’Neils Pub in downtown London.  We drank, danced and sang our little hearts out all night, and when The Proclaimers’ anthem came on, we lost it.  To steal a quote from Rob Sefer, “I’ve never raged with such passion.”

There’s more?!?!

Glasvegas is so good that NME said of them, “If The Libertines defined the start of the decade and Arctic Monkeys its middle, then Glasvegas are almost certainly going to define its end and beyond.”

Just listen to their beauteous hit, Daddy’s Gone, or watch THIS!

Do ya think they got their name from Scottish playground city Glasgow?  I think def prob maybz.

Leave a comment

Filed under Music, Travel

Leave a comment