Animal Shelter Commercial

“abandoned and dying of a broken heart”

“never loved”

“every life counts.  they need medical care, food and love”

“you’re just one call, one click away”

I love animals as much as the next person.  I got my pup from a shelter and couldn’t be happier that she’s no longer living from cage to cage.  When I see this sort of sob story stuff it takes me back to a conversation I had with a man named Andre this past winter.  We spoke in the nation’s capital on a typically bitter cold night.  He said, “People will approach a dog on the street before they’ll approach a homeless man.  There are six times more animal shelters than homeless shelters in this country.  I don’t get it.”

People fear the homeless, or they don’t trust them, or they don’t like them because they’re homeless and they shouldn’t be.  Those animal shelter quotes work pretty nicely for some humans, too.  It’s uncomfortable to imagine living from sidewalk to sidewalk.  It good to imagine, though.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment